Stefano Domenicali about Kimi Räikkönen

Domenicali talked about Kimi for Leo Turrini’s blog. I am not sure if I actually like it… No, I don’t like it for sure.

“In 2009 it was me who told Raikkonen, he cannot stay with us, even when he had a contract. I told him it, it was my duty.”

He also talks about how good relationship they had and still have. Kimi wasn’t about to give up on his seat in Ferrari. He wanted to stay.

“I told him, we have to replace him, because we need a driver with other qualities. Not with other driving qualities, but with other features related to the relationship with mechanics and the team.”

He says that the whole problem was that Kimi speaks little. It is part of his nature but it’s a disadvantage. Furthermore, he doesn’t think Kimi will ever come back to F1.

Well and here is what I think about this whole thing. I don’t why everybody says Kimi doesn’t speak much… Rallying isalso about the drivers and co-drivers feedback to the mechanics. They even have to write down the track notes. It’s just a mystery to me, that the rally drivers and his team colleagues have different views. I’m sure Ferrari needed a driver with other qualities, because Kimi would never make a clown of himself. He is not two faced and is not a toy to follow every stupid order. Honestly, I think Alonso is really the right fit.

Kimi’s best choice was to focus on the rallying. It’s the right place for him and Ferrari and Domenicali can do whatever they want… Obviously they can do whatever they want. Just look back at the German GP in the last season.

You can read the whole article here.

Posted in F1

Leave a comment